HEADLINE-FURRY OCTUPUS LOCATED AT CUB

See, I knew that’d get you to read!  I am extremely pleased tonight to be able to announce that I located a furry octupus toy for my kitty at Cub Foods.  The toy consists of a fuzzy ball in the middle with eight dangling “legs” hanging off of it and a tiny bell.  Serena LOVES it!  But this is not her first octopus.

Several years ago Serena got an octopus from “Santa”.  Now, you often will find Serena playing fetch with a ball, or whacking a mini-mouse off of the coffeetable.  But, with her octopus it was different.  It was the funniest thing, but you rarely saw her playing with it, and yet it just showed up in strange places.  For instance, after a day at work I might return home for my afternoon nap and find the octopus in my bed.  Or, we might wake in the morning and find it right outside our bedroom door.  Once I even found it in the dirty clothes hamper!  Yet I can count on one hand the number of times I have actually seen the cat play with it.

Her last octopus was mauled down until it was practically furless and held together by a few sodden stitches, so we had to throw its remains in the trash.  Then the hunt for a replacement began.  I couldn’t find one anywhere!  Finally, after months of searching, I  was tickled one day to find something that resembled it.  It had the dangling legs, but this toy had more of an oval head, rather than a fluffy ball, in the center.  To me the head resembled a lobster head, with beady little eyes.  It could have been a squid, or a jellyfish perhaps, with its dangly “limbs”, but I believe it only had six of these, which would have made it, at best, a hexapus.  I brought it home.  Serena was mildly interested at first, but soon turned her furry little whiskers up at it.

Many more months passed, and then, today, I found an octopus at Cub!  When I got home I located Serena curled up, asleep, on one of the boy’s beds.  When I held it out to her, she reached out her little paw to bat it and immediately started licking the furry center part.  I have already found it on the stairs, and in the doorway to the girls’ room.  It makes us smile whenever we see it, so it’s a sort of win/win for the whole family.

When my daugher, Maggie, was little, she carried a Pooh bear with her wherever she went.  Panicked that she’d lose Pooh bear, we bought a second one at a garage sale, which she promptly began carrying around with her, too, which sort of defeated the purpose, but oh, well.  Drawing on my past experience I purchased two octupi, but this time, I hid one away.  Older, and wiser, you see.

Does your pet have a special toy? Does it go into mourning whenever that toy is lost? 

As I sat here writing this, Serena came bounding in with her octupus.  She is so happy!  Long live octopi!

About M.J. Schiller

I am a mother of four/writer/lunch lady. I set my blog up when my son looked at my Facebook wall and said, "Mom, you don't status, you blog!" Let's put it this way, I'm one of the only people that constantly comments on my own statuses!
This entry was posted in Mary's Monday Mayhem and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

