Decluttering How-To’s~Dedicated to Angie Mier

I decluttered today, Ang’.  But this is how it’s done right. 

Step 1- Choose the most inconvenient time to attack your project.

I often start just as we’re sitting down to dinner, but choosing to begin your project minutes before guests arrive is an equally suitable solution.  Another option would be to tackle it after the hour of 11 p.m., or even when in the midst of another project (that’s my personal favorite).

Step 2- Release a string of cuss words aimed at the area in question.

For example, “I hate this @#$%& cabinet!”  or “I can’t find anything under this @#$%& sink!”

Step 3- Drag over a trashcan and start throwing things out indiscriminately. 

Don’t worry about whether it’s a family heirloom or a vital piece to some piece of equipment.  If it’s in your way, it needs to go.  Don’t even worry about hitting the trashcan, that’s a project for another day.

Step 4-  After you have thrown away a satisfactory amount of objects, start stuffing things back in random order.

There’s no real need to organize as it will just become disorganized through daily use anyway.

So, there you have it.  Four easy steps to decluttering.  Sigh.  Now don’t you feel better?  Glad I could be of help.

About M.J. Schiller

I am a mother of four/writer/lunch lady. I set my blog up when my son looked at my Facebook wall and said, "Mom, you don't status, you blog!" Let's put it this way, I'm one of the only people that constantly comments on my own statuses!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Decluttering How-To’s~Dedicated to Angie Mier

  1. Angie says:

    I just saw this for the first time…You crack me up!!

Leave a comment